The Stanford Blockchain Conference 2020

Arrillaga Alumni Center, Stanford University
Feb. 19-21, 2020

This conference explores methods of security engineering and risk management in blockchain systems. We are interested in the application of cryptography, decentralized protocols, formal methods, and empirical analysis to improving security or mitigating risk in blockchain deployments. We aim to foster multidisciplinary collaboration among practitioners and researchers in blockchain protocol development, cryptography, distributed systems, secure computing, crypto-economics, and engineering and economic risk analysis.

The talks and papers from the previous events in this conference series are available here:   2017,   2018,   2019.

Conference Dates:   Feb. 19 - 21, 2020.

Venue: Arrillaga Alumni Center (326 Galvez St), Stanford University. Map.

Parking: Nearest parking is Galvez Lot across the street. Use event code 6162 at the parking meters.

Accommodations: Some hotels close to Stanford are the Sheraton Palo Alto, the Stanford Terrace Inn, and others listed at Stanford's lodging guide.


Lecture videos: Day 1,   Day 2,   Day 3

Satellite events

Organizing Committee

  • Program Chairs

    • Dan Boneh, Stanford University
    • Benedikt Bünz, Stanford University
  • General Chair

    • Byron Gibson, Stanford Blockchain Center
  • Program Committee

    • Shashank Agrawal, Visa Research
    • Oleg Andreev, Interstellar
    • Bryan Bishop, Bitcoin contributor
    • Sean Bowe, Electronic Coin Company
    • Christian Cachin, University Bern
    • Jan Camenisch, Dfinity
    • Stefan Dziembowski, University of Warsaw
    • Ben Fisch, Stanford University
    • Ariel Gabizon, Protocol Labs
    • Chaya Ganesh, Aarhus University
    • Nicola Greco, Protocol Labs
    • Fredrik Harrysson, Parity
    • Lucianna Kiffer, Northeastern University
    • Giuilio Malavolta, Carnegie Mellon University
    • Mary Maller, University College London
    • Neha Narula, MIT Media Lab
    • Valeria Nikolaenko, Calibra
    • Monica Quaintance, Kadena
    • Ling Ren, UIUC
    • Tim Ruffing, Blockstream
    • Alessandra Scafuro, North Carolina State
    • Barry Whitehat, Ethereum Foundation
    • David Schwartz, Ripple
    • Nicholas Spooner, UC Berkeley
    • Elaine Shi, Cornell University
    • Mahdi Zamani, Visa Research


The founding members of the Stanford Center for Blockchain Research (CBR) are:

Additional funding for the conference was provided by: